How to debug mapD core and trace the excution of a SQL

Hi! I’m a freshman to gdb, but I know the basic knowledge.

I wan’t to trace the mapD server, and I wonder how a SQL is excuted in mapD.
So I want to debug it. But the server got two child thread——bufThread && httpThread.

I followed the gdb tuturial to debug multi-threads code. But I always failed with the error below.And I can't see which code line the code executed.

Futher, I can’t set breakpoint. I must do something in a wrong way. Can anyone help me.Thanks

0x00007ffff62f198d in pthread_join (threadid=140736714430208, thread_return=0x0) at pthread_join.c:90
90      pthread_join.c: No such file or directory.
(gdb) q

@pickou we would love to help, but the issues you describe seem to be specific to GDB rather than our products. I can ask around and see if we have anyone that’s familiar with GDB.

hi @pickou,

You have to compile for debug using the `-DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=debug, but I guess you already did, then you have to be sure the built mapd_server is functional, starting the server then running some queries; after that debugging is as “easy” :wink: task, but following the various steps of such complex software with gdb in command line mode it’s a little awkward.

anyway here is a brief example

gdb ./mapd_server
GNU gdb (Ubuntu 8.2-0ubuntu1~16.04.1) 8.2
Copyright (C) 2018 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
[CUT]
For help, type "help".
Type "apropos word" to search for commands related to "word"...
Reading symbols from ./mapd_server...
set argsdone.
 (gdb)
(gdb) set args --config /opt/mapd_storage/mapd.conf
(gdb) start
Temporary breakpoint 1 at 0x14dd1a6: file /opt/github-mapd/mapd-core/MapDServer.cpp, line 204.
Starting program: /opt/github-mapd/mapd-core/build_profiling/bin/mapd_server --config /opt/mapd_storage/mapd.conf
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libthread_db.so.1".